New Moon in Leo

Saturday, July 26, 2014, 4:42 PM central

Constellation LeoThe new moon is a time of beginnings and opportunities. This is a time of manifestation, making choices, making plans. Jan Spiller published a book, New Moon Astrology, which is one of a few books I keep close. I recommend getting a copy, if you don’t already own it. I have been wishing on new moons for well over a year. I have had some powerful experiences as a result. As a warning, it is not for the faint-hearted or the wishy-washy. Pledge now to only say what you mean, and to harm none.

Before you start

Jan mentions a period, called the Grandaddy Power Period. This period is unique to each person’s chart, based on when the Sun is transiting the 11th House of your birth chart. The 11th is the house of Karma. Honestly, I am not an Astrological guru, but I trust Jan Spiller. I also trust my experiences. Click the link to calculate this period and use her suggested first wish, “I want to easily cut through any fears or negativity that may arise in the month following my Power Period, and emerge with flying colors.”

Yes, it works

When I started wishing, it was something I did to give myself direction. At the very least, I believed it would help me focus my mental energy, or meditate. I thought it might make me feel better. I’d try it and see if it helped. Within a few months, my life changed dramatically. I started noticing opportunities and started taking them. I was also fired from a soul-crushing job. That experience proved to me that this is not for sissies. I took some time to decompress and then took a job that was a perfect match for my skills and interests. I am respected by my boss and coworkers. I believe wishing each new moon and during my Grandaddy has made a powerful impact on my life. I will talk more about these experiences in future posts, but let’s get to wishing.

What to do

You have until Sunday, July 27 at 12:42 AM (central) to write down 2 – 10 wishes by hand. Write them simply and in plain language. Let your intuition guide you, not logic. Wish what you mean, not what you think you should, not what you aren’t sure about. Date and keep what you write (I use sticky notes in a paper calendar). Don’t waste your wishes on other people, they are yours and yours alone, and they should never be used to influence the will of anyone else.

Once you have written down your 2 – 10 wishes, let the Universe have them. If you notice new opportunities, take them. They are the gift you asked for. Change can be a little difficult, especially if you’re afraid or don’t believe you can have what you want. Try your best to remain calm and believe this can be yours. I write to get myself through fearful or uncomfortable times. If you’re not good with words, draw, dance, sing, get out in nature, whatever you need to do.

What’s special about a moon in Leo?

The moon in Leo makes us want to have fun. Wishes you might want to think about involve romance, creativity, self-actualization, loyalty, generosity, joy, play, parties, vacations, self-confidence, leadership, stamina, pride, extravagance, spinal or back issues, the heart, exhaustion, and inflammation. Do something fun before you sit down with your wishes. It might make them flow a little easier…

Something yummy

July is fig season! If you have access to fresh figs, wash a few (a drop of liquid castile soap is great for washing produce) and slice them into quarters. Put the figs in a bowl and dot them with some very soft cheese (chevre or mascarpone are great choices) and drizzle with honey. This is a great breakfast or dessert. Not into figs? Eat something delicious — the moon’s in Leo!
Follow me on Twitter! Let me give you a personal tarot reading in my Etsy store: Tell Me, Howe!

Leave a Reply

